The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Plays

Plays (1959) [Omnibus Volume]
by Anton Chekhov Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

One of a generation on the brink of tremendous social upheaval, Anton Chekhov (1860-1904), despite his flashes of humour, paints in his plays an essentially tragic picture of Russian society. The plays in this volume--Ivanov, The Cherry Orchard, The Seagull, Uncle Vania and The Three Sisters, together with three one-act "jests" - all display Chechkov's overwhelming sense of the tedium and futility of everyday life. Yet his representation of human relationships is infinitely sympathetic, and each play contains at least one character who expresses Chekhov's hope for a brighter future.


Original title: Plays
Original languages: English


Genre: Drama and PlaysRussian

The following works are contained within this one:
     Ivanov (1887) [Play]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Seagull, the (1896) [Play]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Uncle Vanya (1897) [Play]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Three Sisters, the (1901) [Play]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Cherry Orchard, the (1904) [Play]
      Author: Anton Chekhov

Edition #1: Plays

Plays (1959)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Elisaveta Fen
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Plays (1959)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Harmondsworth, Middlesex
Publisher: Penguin Classics
ISBN: 0140440968
Dimensions: x x
Pages: 453

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use