The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Uncle Valentine and Other Stories

Uncle Valentine and Other Stories (1973) [Collection]
by Willa Cather Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

The seven stories in this volume were written during the ascending and perhaps most triumphant years of Willa Cather's career, the period during which she published nine books, including My Ántonia, A Lost Lady, and Death Comes for the Archbishop. For the most part ironic in tone, these stories are, as Bernice Slote observes, bound by the geometrics of urban life—streets and offices, workers and firms, the business world of New York and Pittsburgh, the cities which by 1929 Willa Cather had known well for over thirty years.


  • Uncle Valentine
  • Double Birthday
  • Consequences
  • The Bookkeeper's Wife
  • Ardessa
  • Her Boss
  • Coming, Eden Bower!

    Edited with an introduction by Bernice Slote

Original title: Uncle Valentine and Other Stories: Willa Cather's Uncollected Short Fiction, 1915-1929
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Uncle Valentine and Other Stories

Uncle Valentine and Other Stories (1973)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Uncle Valentine and Other Stories (1973)

ISBN: 0803263171

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use