The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Sonnets to Orpheus

Sonnets to Orpheus (1923) [Collection]
by Rainer Maria Rilke Rating: Weighted - 8.6 / Average - 9.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Orpheus represents the poet's journey into understanding of life and death. He is Rilke's touchstone, the mythical poet who could enchant beasts, birds, and spirits with his music. Originating in reflections on the untimely death of a young girl, the poems express Rilke's delicate sense of the beauty and transience of life and the transforming possibilities of love.

Part One

  1. A tree sprang into life
  2. And it was almost a girl
  3. A god can do it
  4. O you delicate ones
  5. Raise no memorial stone
  6. Does he live among us?
  7. To praise is foremost!
  8. Only in the realm of praising
  9. Only one who has raised the lyre
  10. I welcome you, ancient coffins
  11. Look at the sky
  12. Cheer the spirit
  13. We are absorbed in blossom
  14. Wait. It tastes good
  15. You, my friend, you are lonely
  16. Way down under the old
  17. Master, do you hear?
  18. Although the world quickly changes form
  19. What can I dedicate to you, lord?
  20. Spring has come again
  21. We drive on
  22. Only on a day when flight
  23. Shall we reject our ancient friendship?
  24. But you whom I knew like a flower
  25. You, holy Orpheus, poet
Part 2
    Breath, you invisible poem!
  1. Just as the master's genuine brushstroke
  2. Mirrors
  3. O here you have the beast
  4. Flower muscle of the anemone
  5. Rose on your throne
  6. Flowers, sisters
  7. O you few playmates
  8. Judges, don't brag
  9. All we have gained, the machine threatens
  10. Many calmly ordered rules of death
  11. Will transformation
  12. Be ahead of all leaving
  13. Observe these flowers
  14. O fountain mouth
  15. Orpheus, whom we have torn apart
  16. Where, in what blissful watered gardens
  17. Dancer, O you translation
  18. Gold lives somewhere
  19. Between the stars
  20. My heart, sing about gardens
  21. O despite fate
  22. Summon me
  23. O this joy always new
  24. Listen
  25. How the cry of a bird
  26. Does time destroyer
  27. O come and go
  28. Silent friend of many distances

Original title: Die Sonette an Orpheus
Original languages: German


Genre: PoetryVerse

This work is a subwork of the following works :
     Rilke's Late Poetry (2005) [Collection]
      Author: Rainer Maria Rilke

Edition #1: Sonnets to Orpheus

Sonnets to Orpheus (2004)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Willis Barnstone
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Sonnets to Orpheus (December 7, 2004)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Boston
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 1590301528
Dimensions: 5.4 x 8.4 x 0.8
Pages: 240

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use