The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions

Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions (1969) [Collection]
by Robert Coover Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Presents a collection of short stories based on traditional fairy tales that expose the futility of idealism.


  • The Door: A Prologue of Sorts
  • The Magic Poker
  • Morris in Chains
  • The Gingerbread House
  • Seven Exemplary Fictions
    • Dedicatioria y Prólogo a don Miguel Cervantes de Saavedra
    1. The Panel Game
    2. The Marker
    3. The Brother
    4. In a Train Station
    5. Klee Dead
    6. J's Marriage
    7. The Wayfarer
  • The Elevator
  • Romance of the Thin Man and the Fat Lady
  • Quenby and Ola, Swede and Carl
  • The Sentient Lens
    1. Scene for "Winter"
    2. The Milkmaid of Samaniego
    3. The Leper's Helix
  • A Pedestrian Accident
  • The Babysitter
  • The Hat Act

Original title: Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions
Original languages: English


Genre: Fairy Tales & FolkloreReinterpretations
FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classicsPost-modern, Avant-garde, & Experimental

The following works are contained within this one:
     Quenby and Ola, Swede and Carl (1969) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert Coover

Edition #1: Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions

Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions (1969)
Edition Details:

Language: English

  • "Using techniques varying from folk fantasy to Stern-like intrusion into realistic narratives, alternating chronologies and points of view with Faulknerian suddenness, Coover achieves highest excellence in a scintilliant variety of short fictional forms." Frank Cunningham Saturday Review
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Pricksongs & Descants: Fictions (March 2000)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Grove Press
ISBN: 9780802136671
Dimensions: 5.3 x 8.1 x 0.8
Pages: 256

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use