The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Over Sea, Under Stone

Over Sea, Under Stone (1965) [Novel]
by Susan Cooper Rating: Weighted - 7.8 / Average - 7.8 of 10 (13 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Dark is Rising, the
Part: 1

Summary :

Over Sea, Under Stone, the first in the five-book series, deals with the search for the grail by three children, Simon, Jane and Barney Drew, on holiday in Cornwall with their adoptive uncle Merriman Lyon.

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that -- the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.

This is the first volume of Susan Cooper's brilliant and absorbing fantasy sequence known as The Dark Is Rising.

Original title: Over Sea, Under Stone
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionChildren & Young AdultFantasyGood And Evil

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use