The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Five

Five (1953) [Collection]
by Doris Lessing Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

This collection of five short novels won the Somerset Maugham award, for the best literary work of the year by a British author under thirty-five in 1954. Four of the stories are set in Africa, and one, The Other Woman, in wartime London. They give an unforgettable picture of life for the underdog: Miss Lessing sees beneath the surface to the reality of the conditions of African servants, seekers after gold, children, and innocents. Her unsentimental presentation of scenes and people, her compassionate understanding, her eye for detail, and her power to convey atmosphere, make these stories a moving experience.

Containing five short novels:

  • A Home for the Highland Cattle
  • The Other Woman
  • Eldorado
  • The Antheap
  • Hunger

Original title: Five
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral Fiction

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Five

Five (1953)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Five (1953)

ISBN: 0586028765

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use