The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories

Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories (1988) [Collection]
by Hisaye Yamamoto Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

Seventeen Syllables is a collection of short stories written by Hisaye Yamamoto illustrating the lives of Japanese Americans, particularly in the internment camps of World War II.

This collection was originally published in 1988 with 15 stories. A revised and expanded edition, published in 2001, contains 4 additional stories.

- The High-Heeled Shoes, A Memoir
- Seventeen Syllables
- The Legend of Miss Sasagawara
- Wilshire Bus
- The Brown House
- Yoneko's Earthquake
- Morning Rain
- Epithalamium
- Las Vegas Charley
- Life Among the Oil Fields, A Memoir
- The Eskimo Connection
- My Father Can Beat Muhammad Ali
- Underground Lady
- A Day in Little Tokyo
- Reading and Writing
Additional stories in the expanded edition:
- Death Rides the Rails to Poston
- Eucalyptus
- A Fire in Fontana
- Florentine Gardens

Original title: Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalWorld War IIGeneral
FictionGeneral Fiction

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories

Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories (1988)
Edition Details:

Language: English

  • "The writing of history and the telling of stories are in our time very different. But these stories about the daily lives of Japanese American women in and out of World War II internment camps of the United States are history and herstory. The women are gutsy or fragile- that is, like any of us would be caught in exile while at home. The stories are beautifully written so we feel them even more deeply." Grace Paley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories (1988)

ISBN: 0813529530

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use