The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Transformations

Transformations (1971) [Collection]
by Anne Sexton Rating: Weighted - 6.7 / Average - 6.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

These poem-stories are a strange retelling of seventeen Grimms fairy tales, including "Snow White," "Rumpelstiltskin," "Rapunzel," "The Twelve Dancing Princesses," "The Frog Prince," and "Red Riding Hood." Astonishingly, they are as wholly personal as Anne Sexton's most intimate poems.

Original title: Transformations
Original languages: English


Genre: Fairy Tales & FolkloreReinterpretations
PoetryEpic and Narrative Poetry

The following works are contained within this one:
     Briar Rose (Sleeping Beauty) (1971) [Poem]
      Author: Anne Sexton

Edition #1: Transformations

Transformations (1971)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edition: 1st

Illustrated by: Barbara Swan
  • "Her metaphoric strength has never been greater -- really funny, among other things, a dark, dark laughter." C.K. Williams
  • "A funny, mad, witty, frightening, charming, haunting book." The New York Times
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Transformations (2001)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Boston
Publisher: Mariner Books
ISBN: 061808343X
Pages: 112

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use