The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Foolish Gentlewoman, the

Foolish Gentlewoman, the (1948) [Novel]
by Margery Sharp Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

The Foolish Gentlewoman is Isobel Brocken. After the war, Isabel, a childless widow, returns to live at Chipping Lodge, the Victorian family home on the outskirts of London, which, through sentiment rather than foresight, she had never sold. Here she is able to offer a home to her brother-in-law Simon, the conservative elderly bachelor who has charge of her affairs; her nephew Humphrey, recently demobilised; Jacqueline, her young companion, fresh from the ATS; and lastly Mrs Poole, the caretaker, and her devoted daughter, Greta. But it is soon obvious to the household that Isabel is ill at ease. She has invited a poor relation, Tilly Cuff, to stay at Chipping Lodge, and before the arrival of Tilly, Isabel unburdens her mind: she is tormented by the thought that in her youth she did Tilly a grave injustice which, she feels, has subsequently been responsible for Tilly's lonely and wretched life. Isabel is determined to make amends. The arrival of Tilly, however, precipitates a tragi-comedy which is fraught with disastrous possibilities for them all.

Original title: The Foolish Gentlewoman
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral Fiction

Edition #1: Foolish Gentlewoman, the

Foolish Gentlewoman, the (1948)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Foolish Gentlewoman, the (1948)

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use