The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Breathmoss and Other Exhalations

Breathmoss and Other Exhalations (2004) [Collection]
by Ian R. MacLeod Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

This collection of literary short fiction combines fantasy, science fiction, and horror in vivid settings, peopled with ordinary humans with normal relationships, and the interaction of the mundane with the fantastic. In "Breathmoss," a young girl must cope with the relationship with her family, love, and a community set in rigid custom, where males are a rarity. In "Verglas," a man must decide to leave his humanity by going native on an ice world or abandon his family. The events leading to the formation of the current government, the repression of Jews and homosexuals, and the horrors of being a closet homosexual in such a regime are examined in "The Summer Isles." Other stories encompass a scientist who searches for extraterrestrial intelligence; a rigid, aged man finding magic by a pool; and an 18-year-old girl who gains the reputation of being a death flower during WWII.


  • Breathmoss
  • Verglas
  • The Chop Girl
  • The Noonday Pool
  • New Light on the Drake Equation
  • Isabel of the Fall
  • The Summer Isles

Original title: Breathmoss and Other Exhalations
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Breathmoss (2002) [Short Story]
      Author: Ian R. MacLeod

Edition #1: Breathmoss and Other Exhalations

Breathmoss and Other Exhalations (2004)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Breathmoss and Other Exhalations (2004)

ISBN: 1930846266

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use