The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Book of the Dead, the

Book of the Dead, the (1991) [Collection]
by Tanith Lee Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Secret Books of Paradys, the
Part: 3

Summary (From the publisher):

"Paradys too has its cemeteries...."; The search for dark secrets deepens in Book III of the Paradys tetralogy, a powerful collection of short stories peopled with the tortured souls that lie buried here as in a fragile prison.

A handsome youth shocks his family by marrying a white weasel. On their bridal bed a beautiful maiden emerges from the weasel’s discarded pelt, but it's not just her previous form that holds the bride captive. For her to be released she must be loved, but her beloved must die at her hands as he bestows the kiss that releases her.

Two childhood lovers wed. Their union seems to be blessed. Little does Roland know that Marie-Mai's pure body is host to the pointed fangs of Evil. Finding this on their wedding night, he kills her and chooses to take the truth to the gallows with him-not for him the responsibility of unmasking the naked face of the Devil.

Children and weak things wither after coming in contact with Julie d'Is. What ancient curse was bestowed upon this infant poisoner in the womb of her foolish mother? Only her death will reveal the truth, for no one can approach her in life.

With her finely crafted and masterful prose, Tanith Lee brings to life these agonized souls and twisted half-creatures, wreaking havoc in their twilight world, where death is only the beginning.


  • The Weasel Bride (1991)
  • The Nightmare's Tale (1990)
  • Beautiful Lady (1991)
  • Morcara's Room (1991)
  • The Marble Web (1991)
  • Lost in the World (1991)
  • The Glass Dagger (1991)
  • The Moon is a Mask (1991)

Original title: The Book of the Dead
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGeneral

The following works are contained within this one:
     Nightmare's Tale, the (1990) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Lost in the World (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Weasel Bride, the (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Glass Dagger, the (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Beautiful Lady (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Moon is a Mask, the (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Morcara's Room (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Marble Web, the (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
This work is a subwork of the following works :
     Secret Books of Paradys III & IV, the (1993) [Omnibus Volume]
      Author: Tanith Lee

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use