The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: More Soviet Science Fiction

More Soviet Science Fiction (1961) [Anthology]
by Anatoly Dnieprov Victor Saparin Arkady Strugatsky Boris Strugatsky Ivan Yefremov Valentina Zhuravleva Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Tales of tomorrow--as the Russians see it

Astronauts who make 700-year flights into the cosmos, pathogenic micro-organisms preserved with loving care, eager scientists who perform dangerous experiments on themselves--these are among some of the varied themes encountered in these fantastic stories.

This second Collier Book of science fiction from the U.S.S.R. provides a revealing glimpse of the Russian concept of an ideal future society. It is also an interesting contrast to such books as George Orwell's 1984 and Aldous Huxley's Brave New World, which envisage a future quite unlike the one implied in these stories.


  • The Heart of the Serpent by Ivan Yefremov
  • Siema by Anatoly Dnieprov
  • The Trial of Tantalus by Victor Saparin
  • Stone from the Stars by Valentina Zhuravleva
  • Six Matches by Arkady Strugatsky and Boris Natanovich Strugatsky
Introduction by Isaac Asimov

Original title: The Heart of the Serpent
Original languages: Russian


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Six Matches (1960) [Short Story]
      Authors: Arkady Strugatsky , Boris Strugatsky

Edition #1: More Soviet Science Fiction

More Soviet Science Fiction (1961)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: R. Prokofieva
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

More Soviet Science Fiction (1961)

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use