The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment

Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment (1988) [Anthology]
by Poul Anderson L. Frank Baum Stephen Vincent Benét Anthony Boucher Ray Bradbury Lucy Lane Clifford Sara Coleridge John Collier Christopher Pearce Cranch Avram Davidson L. Sprague de Camp Samuel R. Delany Philip K. Dick Charles Dickens Lord Dunsany Wyman Guin Nathaniel Hawthorne Robert A. Heinlein Ursula K. Le Guin Fritz Leiber Elizabeth A. Lynn Abraham Merritt Michael Moorcock Kenneth Morris William Morris Fletcher Pratt Joanna Russ Saki Margaret St. Clair Frank R. Stockton Theodore Sturgeon Mark Twain Horace Walpole Gene Wolfe Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):


  • The Rule of Names (1964) by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • The Magic Fishbone (1868) by Charles Dickens
  • The Goddess on the Street Corner (1953) by Margaret St. Clair
  • Feathertop: A Moralized Legend (1846) by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • The Root and the Ring (1954) by Wyman Guin
  • The Green Magician (1954) by L. Sprague de Camp & Fletcher Pratt
  • Our Fair City (1949) by Robert A. Heinlein
  • The Man Who Could Not See Devils (1970) by Joanna Russ
  • A New Arabian Night’s Entertainment (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • The King and His Three Daughters (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • The Dice-Box: A Fairy Tale (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • The Peach in Brandy: A Milesian Tale (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • Mi Li: A Chinese Fairy Tale (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • A True Love Story (1785) by Horace Walpole
  • The Bird’s Nest (1967) by Horace Walpole
  • Bird of Prey (1954) by John Collier
  • The Detective of Dreams (1980) by Gene Wolfe
  • The Bee-Man of Orn (1887) by Frank R. Stockton
  • The Red Hawk (1983) by Elizabeth A. Lynn
  • The Canvasser’s Tale (1876) by Mark Twain
  • The Silken-Swift (1953) by Theodore Sturgeon
  • The New Mother (1882) by Lucy Lane Clifford
  • Mr. Lupescu (1945) by Anthony Boucher
  • The King of the Cats (1929) by Stephen Vincent Benét
  • Uncle Einar (1947) by Ray Bradbury
  • Space-Time for Springers (1958) by Fritz Leiber
  • Great Is Diana (1958) by Avram Davidson
  • The Last of the Huggermuggers: A Giant Story (1856) by Christopher Pearse Cranch
  • Tobermory (1909) by Saki
  • The King of the Elves (1953) by Philip K. Dick
  • The Glass Dog (1901) by L. Frank Baum
  • The Queen of Quok (1901) by L. Frank Baum
  • The Magic Bonbons (1901) by L. Frank Baum
  • The Dummy That Lived (1901) by L. Frank Baum
  • The Tale of Dragons and Dreamers (1979) by Samuel R. Delany
  • Excerpt from Phantasmion by Sara Coleridge
  • The Sapphire Necklace (1930) by Kenneth Morris
  • The Regent of the North (1915) by Kenneth Morris
  • The Eyeless Dragons: A Chinese Story (1915) by Kenneth Morris
  • Elric at the End of Time (1981) by Michael Moorcock
  • Lindenborg Pool (1856) by William Morris
  • The Moon Pool (1918) by A. Merritt
  • The Sword of Welleran (1908) by Lord Dunsany
  • Operation Afreet (1956) by Poul Anderson

Original title: Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy

The following works are contained within this one:
     Feathertop (1846) [Short Story]
      Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
     Magic Fishbone, the (1868) [Short Story]
      Author: Charles Dickens
     New Mother, the (1882) [Short Story]
      Author: Lucy Lane Clifford
     Bee-Man of Orn (1887) [Short Story]
      Author: Frank R. Stockton
     Queen of Quok, the (1901) [Short Story]
      Author: L. Frank Baum
     Sword of Welleran, the (1908) [Short Story]
      Author: Lord Dunsany
     Regent of the North, the (1915) [Short Story]
      Author: Kenneth Morris
     Moon Pool, the (1918) [Short Story]
      Author: Abraham Merritt
     King of the Elves (1953) [Short Story]
      Author: Philip K. Dick
     Operation Afreet (1956) [Short Story]
      Author: Poul Anderson
     Rule of Names, the (1964) [Short Story]
      Author: Ursula K. Le Guin

Edition #1: Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment

Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment (1988)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: David G. Hartwell Kathryn Cramer
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment (1988)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 9780312022501
Pages: 622

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use