The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories, the

Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories, the (1994) [Anthology]
by Poul Anderson Peter S. Beagle Ray Bradbury John Brunner John Buchan Angela Carter Avram Davidson Lord Dunsany Phyllis Eisenstein Richard Garnett Robert Holdstock Robert E. Howard Henry Kuttner Sterling E. Lanier Tanith Lee Fritz Leiber H. P. Lovecraft Abraham Merritt Catherine Lucille (C.L.) Moore Larry Niven Mervyn Peake Terry Pratchett Keith Roberts Lucius Shepard Clark Ashton Smith Theodore Sturgeon Thomas Burnett Swann James Tiptree, Jr. Jack Vance Manly Wade Wellman Jane Yolen Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Oxford Books of Prose

Summary :

Stories of the unreal, of trolls and werewolves, spells and sorcerers, and magic lands have been part of the human psyche for as long as there are records. In the present century, far from being outdated by the rise of technology and science fiction, fantasy has once more become a major literary genre expressive of the deepest feelings about humanity and its relation to the natural world. Fantasy is indeed one of the most successful of modern literary genres, as can been from the sales of Tolkien and his successors. Yet the rise of the fantasy "trilogy" has tended to obscure a long tradition of short fantasy fiction, just as enjoyable as the long books. Built on the ancient foundation of the fairy tale, but sharply distinguished from it, the fantasy story has evolved in often ephemeral and little-known magazines.

The Demon Pope (1888) Richard Garnett
The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth (1908) Lord Dunsany
Through the Dragon Glass (1917) Abraham Merritt
The Nameless City (1921) H. P. Lovecraft
The Wind in the Portico (1928) John Buchan
The Tower of the Elephant (1933) Robert E. Howard
Xeethra (1934) Clark Ashton Smith
Jirel Meets Magic (1935) Catherine L. Moore
The Bleak Shore (1940) Fritz Leiber
Homecoming (1946) Ray Bradbury
See You Later (1949) Henry Kuttner
Liane the Wayfarer (1950) Jack Vance
The Desrick on Yandro (1952) Manly Wade Wellman
The Silken-Swift... (1953) Theodore Sturgeon
Operation Afreet (1956) Poul Anderson
The Singular Events Which Occurred in the Hovel on the Alley Off of Eye Street (1962) Avram Davidson
The Sudden Wings (1962) Thomas Burnett Swann
Same Time, Same Place (1963) Mervyn Peake
Timothy (1966) Keith Roberts
The Kings of the Sea (1968) Sterling E. Lanier
Not Long Before the End (1969) Larry Niven
The Wager Lost by Winning (1970) John Brunner
Lila the Werewolf (1969) Peter S. Beagle
Johanna (1978) Jane Yolen
The Erl-King (1979) Angela Carter
Beyond the Dead Reef (1983) James Tiptree, Jr.
Subworld (1983) Phyllis Eisenstein
Bite-Me-Not or, Fleur de Fur (1984) Tanith Lee
The Night of White Bhairab (1984) Lucius Shepard
Thorn (1984) Robert Holdstock
Troll Bridge (1992) Terry Pratchett

Edited by Tom Shippey

Original title: The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy

The following works are contained within this one:
     Demon Pope, the (1888) [Short Story]
      Author: Richard Garnett
     Nameless City, the (1921) [Short Story]
      Author: H. P. Lovecraft
     Tower of the Elephant, the (1933) [Novelette]
      Author: Robert E. Howard
     Bleak Shore, the (1940) [Short Story]
      Author: Fritz Leiber
     Homecoming, the (1946) [Short Story]
      Author: Ray Bradbury
     Operation Afreet (1956) [Short Story]
      Author: Poul Anderson
     Not Long Before the End (1969) [Short Story]
      Author: Larry Niven
     Lila the Werewolf (1974) [Novella]
      Author: Peter S. Beagle
     Erl-King, the (1977) [Short Story]
      Author: Angela Carter
     Beyond the Dead Reef, (1983) [Short Story]
      Author: James Tiptree, Jr.
     Night of White Bhairab, the (1984) [Short Story]
      Author: Lucius Shepard
     Bite-Me-Not or Fleur De Fur (1984) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use