The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Klingsor's Last Summer

Klingsor's Last Summer (1920) [Collection]
by Hermann Hesse Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (2 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

This is the first English-language edition of 'Klingsor's Last Summer,' originally published in 1920, a year after 'Demian' and two years before 'Siddhartha.' The book has three parts: a story called 'A Child's Heart,' followed by 'Klein and Wagner' and 'Klingsor's Last Summer,' Hesse's two longest and finest novellas. The first section, written in January 1919, in Basel, concerns the transmutation of a boy's innocence into knowledge of good and evil, and the painful guilt that accompanies this process. The two novellas, written shortly after 'A Child's Heart' are set in a southern landscape that reflects Hesse's life that summer; both novellas have heroes who are more or less Hesse's age at the time; and in both the hero's death is preceded by a grand vision of unity in which the polarities of life are resolved. In effect, the two works are complimentary -- different answers to the same question. Richard and Clara Winston, the distinguished translators of 'The Glass Bead Game,' have responded with a particular triumph of the translator's art.


  • A Child's Heart
  • Klein and Wagner
  • Klingsor's Last Summer

Original title: Klingsors letzter Sommer
Original languages: German


Genre: FictionGeneral Fiction

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Klingsor's Last Summer

Klingsor's Last Summer (1970)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Richard Winston Clara Winston
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Klingsor's Last Summer (1970)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 0374181667

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use