The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories

Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories (1994) [Anthology]
by Robert Barr Arnold Bennett Ernest Bramah Ellis Parker Butler G. K. Chesterton Richard Harding Davis Arthur Conan Doyle R. Austin Freeman Jacques Futrelle Anna Katharine Green O. Henry E.W. Hornung Fergus Hume Maurice Leblanc Jack London Arthur Morrison Melville Davisson Post Arthur B. Reeve Edgar Wallace Victor L. Whitechurch Israel Zangwill Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Mammoth Anthologies

Summary (From the publisher):

This unusual collection of stories explores the phenomenon of the detective story. Tracing its history from the first Sherlock Holmes stories in 1891 to the variety of detectives that appeared in the Edwardian era, this anthology offers exciting rarities by many well-known authors such as Sir Authur Conan Doyle, Richard Harding Davis, and many others.


  • A Scandal in Bohemia (1891) by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Cheating the Gallows (1893) by Israel Zangwill
  • The Doctor, His Wife, and the Clock (1895) by Anna Katharine Green
  • The Flitterbat Lancers (1896) by Arthur Morrison
  • The Florentine Dante (1898) by Fergus Hum
  • Nine Points of the Law (1898) by E. W. Hornung
  • In the Fog (1901) by Richard Harding Davis
  • The Fire of London (1905) by Arnold Bennett
  • Lord Chizelrigg’s Missing Fortune (1905) by Robert Barr
  • A Retrieved Reformation (1903) by O. Henry
  • The Four Just Men (1905) by Edgar Wallace
  • The Mysterious Railway-Passenger (1908) by Maurice Leblanc
  • The Affair of the Corridor Express (1899) by Victor L. Whitechurch
  • The Diamond Master by Jacques Futrelle
  • The Hard-Boiled Egg (“Philo Gubb, The Correspondence School Detective”, 1913) by Ellis Parker Butler
  • The Master of Mystery (1902) by Jack London
  • “Spontaneous Combustion” (1911) by Arthur B. Reeve
  • A Wastrel’s Romance (1910) by R. Austin Freeman
  • The Honour of Israel Gow (“The Strange Justice”, 1911) by G. K. Chesterton
  • Smothered in Corpses by Ernest Bramah
  • The Angel of the Lord (“The Broken Stirrup-Leather”, 1911) by Melville Davisson Post
  • His Last Bow: an Epilogue of Sherlock Holmes (1917) by Arthur Conan Doyle
Edited by: Marie Smith

Original title: Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysteryDetective Story and Detectives

The following works are contained within this one:
     Scandal in Bohemia, a (1891) [Short Story]
      Author: Arthur Conan Doyle
     Retrieved Reformation, a (1903) [Short Story]
      Author: O. Henry
     Honour of Israel Gow, the (1911) [Short Story]
      Author: G. K. Chesterton

Edition #1: Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories

Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories (1994)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Marie Smith
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Mammoth Book of Golden Age Detective Stories (1994)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Carroll & Graf
ISBN: 9780786700882
Pages: 517

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use