The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Forbidden Journeys: Fairy Tales and Fantasies by Victorian Women Writers

Forbidden Journeys: Fairy Tales and Fantasies by Victorian Women Writers (1992) [Anthology]
by Frances Hodgson Burnett Juliana Horatia Ewing Jean Ingelow Mary Louisa Molesworth Edith Nesbit Anne Isabella Ritchie Christina Rossetti Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

In many ways themselves restricted to the status of children, Victorian women were less inclined than the men of their time to idealize childhood--and the children's stories they wrote often tended to be darker and wilder than those of their male counter-parts. As the eleven brilliant stories collected here demonstrate, these fairy tales by Victorian women constitute a distinct literary tradition, one startlingly subversive of the society that fostered it. Collected for the first time in one volume, these fairy tales and fantasies are fascinating for more than their social and historical implications: They are extraordinary stories, full of strange delights for readers of any age. From Anne Thackeray Ritchie's adaptations of "The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood" and "Beauty and the Beast," and Jean Ingelow's fantastic novel Mopsa the Fairy to Christina Rossetti's unsettling antifantasies in Speaking Likenesses, these are breathtaking acts of imaginative freedom, by turns amusing, charming, and disturbing. In collecting these works, two of our most distinguished Victorian scholars rescue authors such as Ritchie, Ingelow, Juliana Horatia Ewing, and Mary Louisa Molesworth from undeserved obscurity. At the same time, Auerbach and Knoepflmacher bring to the fore the power of the shorter prose fantasies of more familiar writers like Rossetti, Frances Hodgson Burnett, and E. Nesbit. Five introductory essays by Auerbach and Knoepflmacher place these stories within the fairy-tale tradition and the context of Victorian juvenile and adult fiction. Defining the tales in relation to the Victorian preoccupation with mythmaking, they identify the astringent social satire and literary mockery present in each work. As entertaining as it is enlightening, this anthology ushers readers into a fantasy world of wit, perversity, and wonder.


  • Part One: Refashioning Fairy Tales by Nina Auerbach & U. C. Knoepflmacher
    • The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood (1866) by Anne Thackeray Ritchie
    • Beauty and the Beast (1867) by Anne Thackeray Ritchie
    • The Brown Bull of Norrowa by Maria Louisa Molesworth
    • Amelia and the Dwarfs (1870) by Juliana Horatia Ewing
  • Part Two: Subversions by Nina Auerbach & U. C. Knoepflmacher
    • Nick (1870) by Christina Rossetti
    • Christmas Crackers (1870) by Juliana Horatia Ewing
    • Behind the White Brick (1879) by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    • Melisande, or, Long and Short Division (1900) by E. Nesbit
    • Fortunatus Rex & Co. (1901) by E. Nesbit
  • Part Three: A Fantasy Novel by Nina Auerbach & U. C. Knoepflmacher
    • Mopsa the Fairy (1869) by Jean Ingelow
  • Part Four: A Trio of Antifantasies Nina Auerbach & U. C. Knoepflmacher
    • Speaking Likenesses (1873) by Christina Rossetti
Edited by Nina Auerbach and U. C. Knoepflmacher.

Original title: Forbidden Journeys: Fairy Tales and Fantasies by Victorian Women Writers
Original languages: English


Genre: Fairy Tales & FolkloreRetellings
Fairy Tales & FolkloreOriginal Creations

The following works are contained within this one:
     Melisande (1900) [Short Story]
      Author: Edith Nesbit

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use