The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends, the

Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends, the (1998) [Anthology]
by Eleanor Arnason Hilaire Belloc Douglas Carmichael Phil Carradice George Cox Stephen Dedman Maude Ebbutt Allen French Roger Lancelyn Green Lady Charlotte Guest Phyllis Ann Karr Sir James Knowles Andrew Lang Lenora Lang Arthur Machen A.R. Hope Moncrieff Geoffrey of Monmouth Howard Pyle Theodore Goodridge Roberts Fay Sampson Hans Shück John Steinbeck Rosemary Sutcliff Alfred Tennyson Peter Valentine Timlett Ron Tiner Jane Yolen Rating: Weighted - 7.7 / Average - 7.7 of 10 (3 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Mammoth Anthologies

Summary (IBList user synopsis):


    The Start of the Legend
  • The First Pendragon by Sir James Knowles
  • The Winning of Kinghood by Howard Pyle
  • The Winning of the Kingdom by Geoffrey of Monmouth
  • The Knight with the Two Swords by John Steinbeck
  • The Winning of a Sword by Howard Pyle
  • The Treason of Morgan le Fay by George Cox
    The Deeds of the Round Table
  • The Winning of Olwen by Lady Charlotte Guest
  • The Temptation of Launcelot by Peter Valentine Timlett
  • Sir Gawain and the Green Knight [from The Sword and the Circle: King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table] by Rosemary Sutcliff
  • The Quest of the Saracen Beast by Theodore Goodridge Roberts
  • Sir Marrok the Wolf by Allen French
  • The Marriage of Sir Gawayne by Maude Ebbutt
  • The Carle of Carlisle by Ron Tiner
  • Sir Lanval by A. R. Hope Moncrieff
  • Sir Percivale of Wales [from King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table] by Roger Lancelyn Green
  • John, the Knight of the Lion by H. Shück
  • The Romance of Tristan and Iseult by Hilaire Belloc
    The Final Days
  • The Dog’s Story by Eleanor Arnason
  • The Quest of the Holy Grail by Andrew & Leonora Lang
  • Madoc the Door Ward by Douglas Carmichael
  • Guinevere and Lancelot [“Many-Tower’d Camelot”] by Arthur Machen
  • The Pretender by Stephen Dedman
  • The Passing of Arthur by Alfred Tennyson, Lord
  • The Lady of Belec by Phyllis Ann Karr
  • Raven’s Meat by Fay Sampson
  • The Quiet Monk by Jane Yolen
  • Afterword: The Isle of Avalon by Phil Carradice

Original title: The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends
Original languages: English


Genre: MythologyRetellingsCeltic and Arthurian
FictionFantasySaga, Myth, and LegendArthurian Legend

This work contains excerpts from the following works :
     Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights, the (1976) [Novel]
      Author: John Steinbeck
     Sword and the Circle, the (1981) [Novel]
      Author: Rosemary Sutcliff


  • Published under the title "Arthurian Legends" by Castle Books in 2002 (ISBN 078581518X)

Edition #1: The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends

The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends (1998)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Mike Ashley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends (1998)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Carroll & Graf
ISBN: 0786705329
Dimensions: 5 x 8 x 1.5 in
Pages: 566

Add to my library

The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends (1998)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London
Publisher: Robinson
ISBN: 1854875337
Pages: 576

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use