The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Journals of Susanna Moodie, the

Journals of Susanna Moodie, the (1970) [Collection]
by Margaret Atwood Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

In this slipcased, dazzingly illustrated edition of the poem cycle that gave rise to the novel Alias Grace, Margaret Atwood sets her poems against the Canadian landscape from pioneer days to the 20th century. It is one of Atwood's most enduring volumes of verse, offering timeless insights into human survival and renewal -- in nature and in civilization.


  • Journal I
    • Disembarking at Quebec
    • Further Arrivals
    • First Neighbours
    • The Planters
    • The Wereman
    • Paths and Thingscape
    • The Two Fires
    • Looking in a Mirror
    • Departure from the Bush
  • Journal II
    • Death of a Young Son by Drowning
    • The Immigrants
    • Dream 1: The Bush Garden
    • 1837 War in Retrospect
    • Dream 2: Brian the Still-Hunter
    • Charivari
    • Dream 3: Night Bear Which Frightened Cattle
    • The Deaths of Other Children
    • The Double Voice
  • Journal III
    • Later in Belleville: Career
    • Daguerreotype Taken in Old Age
    • Wish: Metamorphoses to Heraldic Emblem
    • Visit to Toronto, with Companions
    • Solipsism While Dying
    • Thoughts from Underground
    • Resurrection
    • A Bus Along St Clair: December
  • Afterword

Original title: The Journals of Susanna Moodie
Original languages: English


Genre: Poetry

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Journals of Susanna Moodie, the

Journals of Susanna Moodie, the (1970)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Journals of Susanna Moodie, the (1970)

ISBN: 0195401697

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use