The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mountains of Mourning, the

Mountains of Mourning, the (1989) [Novella]
by Lois McMaster Bujold Rating: Weighted - 8.9 / Average - 9.0 of 10 (12 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: 2 (show them) Review!

Series: Vorkosigan

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

Twenty year old Ensign Miles Vorkosigan plays detective in a murder case, and tests the balance of power as a member of the Barrayaran nobility.

Published in Analog, May 1989. Reprinted in:

  • Borders of Infinity, Baen 1989
  • Vorkosigan’s Game, SFBC 1990
  • Nebula Awards 25 (1991)
  • The New Hugo Winners: Volume III (1994)
  • Nebula Award-Winning Novellas, ed. Martin H. Greenberg, Barnes & Noble 1994
  • Dreamweaver’s Dilemma, Lois McMaster Bujold, NESFA Press 1995

Original title: The Mountains of Mourning
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience FictionAdventureSpace Opera
FictionScience FictionMystery and Detectives

This work is a subwork of the following works :
     Borders of Infinity (1989) [Collection]
      Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
     Nebula Awards 25 (1991) [Anthology]
      Authors: Lois McMaster Bujold , Mike Resnick , Elizabeth Ann Scarborough , Connie Willis , Michael Bishop , John M. Ford , John Crowley , Gardner R. Dozois , Robert Frazier , Bruce Boston
     New Hugo Winners: Volume III, the (1994) [Anthology]
      Authors: Lois McMaster Bujold , George Alec Effinger , Joe Haldeman , Mike Resnick , Robert Silverberg , Connie Willis , Terry Bisson , Suzy McKee Charnas
     Dreamweaver's Dilemma (1995) [Collection]
      Author: Lois McMaster Bujold


  • Available as a free ebook from

Edition #1: The Mountains of Mourning

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use