The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Fantasy Hall of Fame, the

Fantasy Hall of Fame, the (1998) [Anthology]
by Poul Anderson J. G. Ballard Peter S. Beagle Terry Bisson James Blish Robert Bloch Jorge Luis Borges Anthony Boucher Ray Bradbury Ted Chiang Avram Davidson L. Sprague de Camp Philip K. Dick Harlan Ellison Horace. L. Gold Robert A. Heinlein Shirley Jackson R. A. Lafferty Ursula K. Le Guin Tanith Lee Fritz Leiber Catherine Lucille (C.L.) Moore Lucius Shepard Robert Silverberg Clifford D. Simak Margaret St. Clair Theodore Sturgeon Jack Vance Gene Wolfe Roger Zelazny Rating: Weighted - 7.1 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (4 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: 1 (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

Anthology of 30 fantasy stories from 1939 to 1990, chosen by members of the Science Fiction Writers of America. includes an introduction by Robert Silverberg and individual story introductions by Martin H. Greenberg.


  • Trouble with Water (1939) by H. L. Gold
  • Nothing in the Rules (1939) by L. Sprague de Camp
  • Fruit of Knowledge (1940) by C. L. Moore
  • Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius (1941) by Jorge Luís Borges
  • The Compleat Werewolf (1942) by Anthony Boucher
  • The Small Assassin (1946) by Ray Bradbury
  • The Lottery (1948) by Shirley Jackson
  • Our Fair City (1949) by Robert A. Heinlein
  • There Shall Be No Darkness (1950) by James Blish
  • The Loom of Darkness (1950) by Jack Vance
  • The Man Who Sold Rope to the Gnoles (1951) by Margaret St. Clair
  • The Silken-Swift (1953) by Theodore Sturgeon
  • The Golem (1955) by Avram Davidson
  • Operation Afreet (1956) by Poul Anderson
  • That Hell-Bound Train (1958) by Robert Bloch
  • Bazaar of the Bizarre (1963) by Fritz Leiber
  • Come Lady Death (1963) by Peter S. Beagle
  • The Drowned Giant (1964) by J. G. Ballard
  • Narrow Valley (1966) by R. A. Lafferty
  • Faith of Our Fathers (1967) by Philip K. Dick
  • The Ghost of a Model T (1975) by Clifford D. Simak
  • The Demoness (1976) by Tanith Lee
  • Jeffty Is Five (1977) by Harlan Ellison
  • The Detective of Dreams (1980) by Gene Wolfe
  • Unicorn Variations (1981) by Roger Zelazny
  • Basileus (1983) by Robert Silverberg
  • The Jaguar Hunter (1985) by Lucius Shepard
  • Buffalo Gals, Won’t You Come Out Tonight (1987) by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Bears Discover Fire (1990) by Terry Bisson
  • Tower of Babylon (1990) by Ted Chiang

Original title: The Fantasy Hall of Fame
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy

The following works are contained within this one:
     Trouble with Water (1939) [Short Story]
      Author: Horace. L. Gold
     Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius (1940) [Short Story]
      Author: Jorge Luis Borges
     Lottery, the (1948) [Short Story]
      Author: Shirley Jackson
     Golem, the (1955) [Short Story]
      Author: Avram Davidson
     Operation Afreet (1956) [Short Story]
      Author: Poul Anderson
     That Hell-Bound Train (1958) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert Bloch
     Drowned Giant, the (1964) [Short Story]
      Author: J. G. Ballard
     Faith of Our Fathers (1967) [Novelette]
      Author: Philip K. Dick
     Demoness, the (1976) [Short Story]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Jeffty is Five (1977) [Short Story]
      Author: Harlan Ellison
     Unicorn Variation (1981) [Novelette]
      Author: Roger Zelazny
     Buffalo Gals, Won’t You Come Out Tonight (1987) [Novelette]
      Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
     Tower of Babylon (1990) [Short Story]
      Author: Ted Chiang
     Bears Discover Fire (1990) [Short Story]
      Author: Terry Bisson

Edition #1: Fantasy Hall of Fame, the

Fantasy Hall of Fame, the (1998)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Robert Silverberg
Introduction by: Robert Silverberg
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Fantasy Hall of Fame (March 1998)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Harper Prism
ISBN: 9780061052156
Dimensions: 6.1 x 9.2 x 1.4
Pages: 562

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use