The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Architecture of Fear, the

Architecture of Fear, the (1987) [Anthology]
by Robert Aickman Scott Baker Michael Bishop Ramsey Campbell Jack Dann John M. Ford Charles L. Grant Dean R. Koontz Joseph Lyons Joyce Carol Oates Jessica Amanda Salmonson John Mason Skipp Craig Spector Karl Edward Wagner Gene Wolfe Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

An anthology of short stories set in haunted houses.


  • Introduction by Peter D. Pautz
  • In the House of Gingerbread by Gene Wolfe
  • Where the Heart Is by Ramsey Campbell
  • Ellen, in Her Time by Charles L. Grant
  • Nesting Instinct by Scott Baker
  • Endless Night by Karl Edward Wagner
  • Trust Me by Joseph Lyons
  • The Fetch by Robert Aickman
  • Visitors by Jack M. Dann
  • Gentlemen by John M. Skipp & Craig Spector
  • Down in the Darkness by Dean R. Koontz
  • Haunted by Joyce Carol Oates
  • In the Memory Room by Michael Bishop
  • Tales from the Original Gothic by John M. Ford
  • The House that Knew No Hate by Jessica Amanda Salmonson
  • Afterword: Houses of the Mind by Kathryn Cramer
  • A Guide to Significant Works of Architectural Horror

Original title: The Architecture of Fear
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGhosts
FictionHorrorHaunted Houses

The following works are contained within this one:
     In the Memory Room (1987) [Short Story]
      Author: Michael Bishop
     Haunted (1987) [Short Story]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Where the Heart Is (1987) [Short Story]
      Author: Ramsey Campbell
     Gentlemen (1987) [Short Story]
      Authors: John Mason Skipp , Craig Spector

Edition #1: Architecture of Fear, the

Architecture of Fear, the (1987)
Awards: World Fantasy Award: Anthology (1988)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Peter D. Pautz Kathryn Cramer
Introduction by: Peter D. Pautz
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Architecture of Fear (1991)

Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 0517075296

Add to my library

The Architecture of Fear (1989)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Avon
ISBN: 0380705532
Pages: 288

Add to my library

Architecture of Fear, the (1987)

Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Arbor House
ISBN: 0877959218
Dimensions: x x

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use