The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Four-Chambered Heart, the

Four-Chambered Heart, the (1950) [Novel]
by Anaïs Nin Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Cities of the Interior
Part: 3

Summary (From the publisher):

The Four-Chambered Heart, Anaïs Nin's 1950 novel, recounts the real-life affair she conducted with café guitarist Gonzalo Moré in 1936. Nin and Moré rented a house-boat on the Seine, and under the pervading influence of the boat's watchman and Moré's wife Helba, developed a relationship. Moré named the boat Nanankepichu, meaning 'not really a home.'

In the novel, which Nin drew from her experiences on the boat, the characters are clearly based. Djuna is an embodiment of Nin herself. A young dancer in search of fulfillment, she encapsulates all that the author was striving for at that time. The character of Djuna features in other novels, perhaps weaving a directly autobiographical thread into Nin's fiction. The gypsy musician, Rango, is therefore Moré, and his invalid wife is Zora. The old watchman is present as a force which, along with Zora, works against the lovers in their quest for happiness.

Nin's main concern is the 'outside,' and how it affects the 'interior.' Water is a cleverly used theme. "I have no great fear of depths," says Djuna, "and a great fear of shallow living." Rango and Djuna's relationship is, in effect, their effort to remain afloat. Often, Nin employs a stream of consciousness, especially in her flowing analyses of love, life and music, which continues the water image.

Original title: The Four-Chambered Heart
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionAdult/Mature Content

Edition #1: Four-Chambered Heart, the

Four-Chambered Heart, the (1950)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Four-Chambered Heart, the (1950)

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use