The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: New England Ghosts

New England Ghosts (1990) [Anthology]
by Josephine Daskam Bacon Stephen Vincent Benét Dana Burnet August Derleth Jeff Hecht Dahlov Ipcar H. P. Lovecraft Barry N. Malzberg Joyce Carol Oates Talmage Powell Seabury Quinn Anne Serling Donald E. Westlake Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

Anthology of 13 ghost stories set in New England.


  • Introduction: Bon Apparition! by Charles G. Waugh
  • This Is Death [“In at the Death”] by Donald E. Westlake
  • Rain by Dana Burnet
  • On 202 by Jeff Hecht
  • The Devil and Daniel Webster by Stephen Vincent Benét
  • Emmett by Dahlov Ipcar
  • The Little Silver Heart by Josephine Daskam Bacon
  • The Changing of the Guard by Anne Serling
  • Herbert West—Reanimator [“Grewsome Tales”] by H. P. Lovecraft
  • A Friendly Exorcise by Talmage Powell
  • Safety Zone by Barry N. Malzberg
  • The Phantom Farmhouse by Seabury Quinn
  • Night-Side by Joyce Carol Oates
  • The Dark Boy by August Derleth

Original title: New England Ghosts
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGhosts

The following works are contained within this one:
     Little Silver Heart, the (1906) [Short Story]
      Author: Josephine Daskam Bacon
     Rain (1917) [Short Story]
      Author: Dana Burnet
     Herbert West—Reanimator (1922) [Short Story]
      Author: H. P. Lovecraft
     Phantom Farmhouse, the (1923) [Short Story]
      Author: Seabury Quinn
     Devil and Daniel Webster, the (1936) [Short Story]
      Author: Stephen Vincent Benét
     Dark Boy, the (1957) [Short Story]
      Author: August Derleth
     Friendly Exorcise, a (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Talmage Powell
     This Is Death (1977) [Short Story]
      Author: Donald E. Westlake
     Night-side (1977) [Short Story]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     On 202 (1981) [Short Story]
      Author: Jeff Hecht
     Changing of the Guard, the (1985) [Short Story]
      Author: Anne Serling
     Emmett (1990) [Short Story]
      Author: Dahlov Ipcar
     Safety Zone (1990) [Short Story]
      Author: Barry N. Malzberg

Edition #1: New England Ghosts

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use