The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Get Off the Unicorn

Get Off the Unicorn (1977) [Collection]
by Anne McCaffrey Rating: Weighted - 6.0 / Average - 5.7 of 10 (3 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: 2 (show them) Review!

Summary :

The title was born when an editor queried McCaffrey about her latest projects. She replied that she was thinking about doing a book called Get of the Unicorn. This was misunderstood as "Get Off the Unicorn", which was so funny that McCaffrey made it the title of her next collection. (In the same way, a mishearing of Gene Wolfe's Citadel of the Autarch inspired his compendium The Castle of the Otter.) This cover shows a Pernese dragon bursting out of the egg, illustrating "The Smallest Dragonboy", the book's only Pern tale. Contains the author's introduction and the following 14 stories, three previously unpublished:
  • Lady in the Tower (1959) later published as part of The Rowan
  • A Meeting of Minds (1969) later published as part of Damia
  • Daughter (1971)
  • Dull Drums (1973)
  • Changeling
  • Weather on Welladay (1969)
  • The Thorns of Barevi (1970)
  • Horse from a Different Sea
  • The Great Canine Chorus (1971)
  • Finder's Keeper (1973)
  • A Proper Santa Claus (1973)
  • The Smallest Dragonboy (1973)
  • Apple (1969) later published as part of To Ride Pegasus
  • Honeymoon

Original title: Get Off the Unicorn
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy
FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Smallest Dragonboy, the (1973) [Short Story]
      Author: Anne McCaffrey

Edition #1: Get Off the Unicorn

Get Off the Unicorn (1977)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Get off the Unicorn (1979)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London, UK
Publisher: Corgi Books
ISBN: 0552109657
Dimensions: 4.2 x 7 x 0.9 in
Pages: 316

Add to my library

Get Off the Unicorn (1977)

ISBN: 0345305779

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use