The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Venging, The

Venging, The (1992) [Collection]
by Greg Bear Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

This is the first published collection of short stories by one of the foremost voices in science fiction today. This significant volume contains many characters and situations that later evolved into their own novels. "Mandala" features technologically perfect cities that eject their sinful human occupants, a premise that can be found at the root of Bear's later novel, Strength of Stones. In "Hardfought", Bear brilliantly handles the classic science fiction dilemma of human communication with aliens. Other stories include "The Wind From a BurningWoman" in which a woman holds the world hostage by controlling a giant asteroid; "Scattershot", in which the inhabitants of many universes meet in an undefined limbo space; and "Petra", a story of a world where chaos rules, stone moves and the mind controls reality. Hailed by readers and critics alike, The Venging has been described as "an excellent collection" and its author praised as "one of the freshest writers to break into the science fiction field in many a year".

Original title: The Venging
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Scattershot (1978) [Short Story]
      Author: Greg Bear
     Wind from a Burning Woman, the (1978) [Short Story]
      Author: Greg Bear
     Petra (1982) [Short Story]
      Author: Greg Bear
     Hardfought (1983) [Novella]
      Author: Greg Bear

Edition #1: Venging, The

Venging, The (1992)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Venging, The (1992)

ISBN: 0712650512

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use