The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Conan the Freebooter

Conan the Freebooter (1968) [Collection]
by L. Sprague de Camp Robert E. Howard Rating: Weighted - 7.7 / Average - 7.8 of 10 (4 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Conan Chronicles, the

Summary (From the publisher):

Incredibly good fantasy...Adventure on the grand scale. Here is Conan at his brawniest, bravest, and brashest, in five brilliantly written adventures: Hawks over Shem, Black Colossus, Shadows in the Moonlight, The Road of the Eagles and A Witch Shall be Born.


Book 7 in the 12 part series published by Lancer/Ace, though in L. Sprague de Camp's internal series chronology it is book 3.

"Hawks over Shem" was originally a Howard story called "Hawks over Egpyt" set in 11th Century Egypt but rewritten into a Conan story by L. Sprague de Camp. "The Road of the Eagles" was originally a Howard story of the same name but set in 16th Century Turkey, also rewritten by L. Sprague de Camp.

Original title: Conan the Freebooter
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasySword and Sorcery
FictionFantasyShared WorldsCelebrity Characters

The following works are contained within this one:
     Black Colossus (1933) [Novelette]
      Author: Robert E. Howard
     Iron Shadows in the Moon (1934) [Novelette]
      Author: Robert E. Howard
     Witch Shall be Born, a (1934) [Novella]
      Author: Robert E. Howard

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use