The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       


Book Information: Erewhon

Erewhon (1872) [Novel]
by Samuel Butler Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

In this privately published work, written in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels, English novelist, essayist, and iconoclast Samuel Butler describes an imaginary visit to a topsy-turvy country called Erewhon (an anagram of "nowhere"), where it is a punishable offense to be physically ill, but where criminality and immorality are looked kindly upon as treatable diseases. The English church is pilloried in the system of "Musical Banks," whose currency nobody believes in but which everyone pretends to value. Universities teach courses on how to say nothing at great length, and all machines have been banned for fear that they will develop through evolution and enslave the citizens. In this and other classic works, including The Way of All Flesh, Butler delighted in attacking the complacency and hypocrisy of Victorian manners and religion.

Original title: Erewhon
Original languages: English

Quotes:

Genre: FictionScience FictionPoliticalDystopia/Utopia
FictionGeneral FictionHumorSatire
FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

This work is a subwork of the following works :
     Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited (2005) [Paired Work]
      Author: Samuel Butler

Edition #1: Erewhon

Erewhon (1872)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!


Manifested in:

Erewhon (2002)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Dover Thrift Editions
ISBN: 0486420485
Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.5
Pages: 192

Add to my library



©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use