The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Fortune's World

Fortune's World (2000) [Collection]
by Michael Collins Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Dan Fortune

Summary :

The world of one-armed private investigator Dan Fortune is filled with danger, deceit ó and striking contrasts. The 14 stories in Fortune's World range from the mean streets of New York City's Chelsea district, to the bleak winter world of Syracuse, New York, to sunny and sometimes violent South America, to Santa Barbara, California, where Fortune now has his office. And the contrasts are not only in the settings, for Michael Collins is aware of the inequities in modern society, and his stories are dominated by a social conscience rare in popular literature.

Fortune's World contains all the previous uncollected Dan Fortune short stories as well as a new story written especially for this volume. The introduction is by Professor Richard Carpenter, and the book concludes with a complete checklist of Dan Fortune novels and short stories.


  • Introduction by Richard Carpenter
  • Scream All the Way
  • Long Shot
  • Eighty Million Dead
  • A Reason to Die
  • Killerís Mind
  • The Chair
  • Murder Is Murder
  • Role Model
  • Angel Eyes
  • Can Shoot
  • A Matter of Character
  • Culture Clash
  • A Death in Montecito
  • Family Values
  • A Dan Fortune Checklist

Original title: Fortune's World
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysteryDetective Story and DetectivesPrivate Detective

The following works are contained within this one:
     Eighty Million Dead (1984) [Short Story]
      Author: Michael Collins

Edition #1: Fortune's World

Fortune's World (2000)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Fortune's World (2000)

ISBN: 1885941463

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use