The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Nightmare Chronicles, the

Nightmare Chronicles, the (1998) [Collection]
by Douglas Clegg Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

It begins in an old tenement with a horrifying crime. It continues after midnight when a young boy held captive in a basement is filled with unearthly visions of fantastic and frightening worlds. How could his kidnappers know that the ransom would be their own souls? For as the hours pass the boy's nightmares invade his captors like parasites--and soon they become real.

Thirteen nightmares unfold: A young man searches for his dead wife among the crumbling buildings of Manhattan...a journalist seeks the ultimate evil in a plague-ridden outpost of India...ancient rituals begin anew with the mystery of a teenage girl's disappearance...and in a hospital for the criminally insane, there is only one doorway to salvation....But the night is not yet over, and the real nightmare has just begun.

Thirteen chilling tales of terror from one of the masters of the horror story.


  • Underworld
  • White Chapel
  • O, Rare and Most Exquisite
  • Only Connect
  • The Fruit of Her Womb
  • The Rendering Man
  • The Night Before Alec Got Married
  • The Ripening Sweetness of Late Afternoon
  • Chosen
  • "The Little Mermaid"
  • Damned If You Do
  • The Hurting Season
  • I Am Infinite; I Contain Multitudes
  • Afterword

Original title: The Nightmare Chronicles
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGeneral

The following works are contained within this one:
     Rendering Man, the (1994) [Short Story]
      Author: Douglas Clegg
     White Chapel (1994) [Short Story]
      Author: Douglas Clegg
     Underworld (1996) [Short Story]
      Author: Douglas Clegg


Edition #1: Nightmare Chronicles, the

Nightmare Chronicles, the (1998)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Nightmare Chronicles (September 1999)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Leisure Books
ISBN: 084394580X
Dimensions: 4.2 x 6.75 x 1
Pages: 360

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2012
Terms of Use