The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Shadowlands

Shadowlands (1989) [Play]
by William Nicholson Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

This long-running, award-winning West End and Broadway hit drama is the moving love story of C. S. Lewis, Oxford Don and world-renowned author of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Screwtape Letters, and an American poet named Joy Davidman. When we first meet "Jack" Lewis, he is a confirmed bachelor in his fifties, firm in his convictions about God and about His plan for the world. To answer these doubters who persist in asking why a loving God could allow such suffering, Lewis blithely states that "Pain is God's megaphone to rouse a deaf world." Easy enough for him to say; for he himself has never felt real pain. And then, he is surprised by Joy, and American poet, married, with a young son. She and Lewis have been corresponding, but have never met until Joy comes to Britain for a visit. Jack ordinarily feels rather uncomfortable around women; but nonetheless he and Joy become fast friends. It is clear that Joy loves Jack, and he loves her; but only Joy is capable of understanding the depth and power of this emotion. Later, when whe gets an divorce from her alcoholic, womanizing husband, she moves to Oxford to be near Jack, and the bewildered Lewis, theoretician of love in the abstract, finally confronts its direct presence in his own life. Grudgingly, though. He marries Joy, but only so that she can stay in the country. And then, God's megaphone finally rouses Jack. Joy, we learn, has advanced, inoperable cancer. As he nurses her through the downhill debilitations of her illness, Jack finally realizes the transforming, awe-inspiring power of deep love between a man and a woman.

Original title: Shadowlands
Original languages: English


Genre: Drama and Plays

Edition #1: Shadowlands

Shadowlands (1989)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Shadowlands (1989)

ISBN: 0452267323

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use