The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories, the

Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories, the (1992) [Anthology]
by Brian W. Aldiss J. G. Ballard James Blish David Brin John W. Campbell Arthur C. Clarke Thomas M. Disch William Gibson Harry Harrison Rudyard Kipling Ursula K. Le Guin George R. R. Martin Paul J. McAuley Walter M. Miller, Jr. Larry Niven Lewis Padgett Frederik Pohl Frank L. Pollock Hilbert Schenck James H. Schmitz Raccoona Sheldon Clifford D. Simak Cordwainer Smith Norman Spinrad Bruce Sterling A.E. van Vogt Stanley G. Weinbaum H. G. Wells Jack Williamson Gene Wolfe Rating: Weighted - 8.0 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (3 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Oxford Books of Prose

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

Science fiction is one of the twentieth century's most characteristic -- and dominant -- literary forms. Despite critical disparagement and misunderstanding it has established itself at the heart of popular literary culture and its readers are now numbered in millions worldwide.

In all its many variations, science fiction can be seen as a prominent example of 'fabril' literature -- urban, disruptive, future-oriented, eager for novelty -- whose central image is the 'faber' (the smith or blacksmith in older usage), extended in science fiction to mean the creator of artefacts in general: metallic, crystalline, genetic, or even social.

In the quest for a respectable ancestry for SF, commentators have pointed to a range of precursors from More's Utopia of 1516 to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (1818). But the critical historical moment came in the late nineteenth century, when the early story of H. G. Wells began to appear against a recent background of popular 'scientific romances'.

Beginning with Wells's story 'The Land Ironclads' of 1903, Tom Shippey's selection charts the development of science fiction in the twentieth century through a wide range of practitioners -- well-known figures (Rudyard Kipling, Arthur C. Clarke, Frederik Pohl, Brian Aldiss, Ursula Le Guin, J. G. Ballard, and Harry Harrison) as well as less familiar writers, and also the most recent arrivals of the 1980s and 1990s, such as Bruce Sterling, Paul McAuley, and David Brin. Taken together, the 30 stories assembled here offer a potent blend of familiar landmarks juxtaposed with more elusive examples that even devotees may have missed. In a stimulating introduction, Professor Shippey analyses the main lines of thematic and technical development of SF over the last 90 years.

The result is an outstanding anthology that will appeal to established science fiction readers as well as to students and other readers coming to the form for the first time.


  • The Land Ironclads (1903) by H.G. Wells
  • Finis (1906) by Frank L. Pollock
  • As Easy as A.B.C. (1912) by Rudyard Kipling
  • The Metal Man (1928) by Jack Williamson
  • A Martian Odyssey (1934) by Stanley G. Weinbaum
  • Night (1935) by John W. Campbell, Jr., writing as Don A. Stuart
  • Desertion (1944) by Clifford D. Simak
  • The Piper’s Son (1945) by Lewis Padgett
  • The Monster (1948) by A.E. van Vogt
  • Second Night of Summer (1950) by James H. Schmitz
  • Second Dawn (1951) by Arthur C. Clarke
  • Crucifixus Etiam (1953) by Walter M. Miller, Jr.
  • The Tunnel Under the World (1955) by Frederik Pohl
  • Who Can Replace a Man? (1958) by Brian W. Aldiss
  • Billenium (1961) by J.G. Ballard
  • The Ballad of Lost C’Mell (1962) by Cordwainer Smith
  • Semley’s Necklace (1964) by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • How Beautiful with Banners (1966) by James Blish
  • A Criminal Act (1967) by Harry Harrison
  • Problems of Creativeness (1967) by Thomas M. Disch
  • How the Whip Came Back (1970) by Gene Wolfe
  • Cloak of Anarchy (1972) by Larry Niven
  • A Thing of Beauty (1973) by Norman Spinrad
  • The Screwfly Solution (1977) by Raccoona Sheldon
  • The Way of Cross and Dragon (1979) by George R.R. Martin
  • Swarm (1982) by Bruce Sterling
  • Burning Chrome (1982) by William Gibson
  • Silicon Muse (1984) by Hilbert Schenck
  • Karl and the Ogre (1988) by Paul J. McAuley
  • Piecework (1990) by David Brin
Edited by Tom Shippey.

Original title: The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Land Ironclads, the (1903) [Short Story]
      Author: H. G. Wells
     Finis (1906) [Short Story]
      Author: Frank L. Pollock
     As Easy as A.B.C. (1912) [Short Story]
      Author: Rudyard Kipling
     Metal Man, the (1928) [Short Story]
      Author: Jack Williamson
     Martian Odyssey, a (1934) [Short Story]
      Author: Stanley G. Weinbaum
     Night (1935) [Short Story]
      Author: John W. Campbell
     Desertion (1944) [Short Story]
      Author: Clifford D. Simak
     Piper's Son, the (1945) [Short Story]
      Author: Lewis Padgett
     Monster, the (1948) [Short Story]
      Author: A.E. van Vogt
     Second Night of Summer, the (1950) [Short Story]
      Author: James H. Schmitz
     Second Dawn (1951) [Short Story]
      Author: Arthur C. Clarke
     Crucifixus Etiam (1953) [Short Story]
      Author: Walter M. Miller, Jr.
     Tunnel Under the World, the (1955) [Short Story]
      Author: Frederik Pohl
     Who Can Replace a Man? (1958) [Short Story]
      Author: Brian W. Aldiss
     Billenium (1961) [Short Story]
      Author: J. G. Ballard
     Ballad of Lost C'Mell, the (1962) [Short Story]
      Author: Cordwainer Smith
     Semley's Necklace (1964) [Short Story]
      Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
     How Beautiful with Banners (1966) [Short Story]
      Author: James Blish
     Criminal Act, a (1967) [Short Story]
      Author: Harry Harrison
     Problems of Creativeness (1967) [Short Story]
      Author: Thomas M. Disch
     How the Whip Came Back (1970) [Short Story]
      Author: Gene Wolfe
     Cloak of Anarchy (1972) [Short Story]
      Author: Larry Niven
     Thing of Beauty, a (1973) [Short Story]
      Author: Norman Spinrad
     Screwfly Solution, the (1977) [Novelette]
      Author: Raccoona Sheldon
     Way of Cross and Dragon, the (1979) [Short Story]
      Author: George R. R. Martin
     Swarm (1982) [Short Story]
      Author: Bruce Sterling

Edition #1: The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories

The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories (1992)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories (2003)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Oxford, UK
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780192803818
Dimensions: 5.1 x 7.7 x 1.3 in
Pages: 624

Add to my library

The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories (1993)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Oxford, UK
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0192831674
Dimensions: 5.2 x 7.8 x 1.4 in
Pages: 576

Add to my library

The Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories (1992)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: Oxford, UK
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780192142047
Dimensions: 6.0 x 8.9 x 1.5 in
Pages: 624

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use