The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: After the Quake

After the Quake (2000) [Collection]
by Haruki Murakami Rating: Weighted - 7.8 / Average - 7.8 of 10 (12 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

The six stories in Haruki Murakamiís mesmerizing collection are set at the time of the catastrophic 1995 Kobe earthquake, when Japan became brutally aware of the fragility of its daily existence. But the upheavals that afflict Murakamiís characters are even deeper and more mysterious, emanating from a place where the human meets the inhuman.

An electronics salesman who has been abruptly deserted by his wife agrees to deliver an enigmatic packageóand is rewarded with a glimpse of his true nature. A man who has been raised to view himself as the son of God pursues a stranger who may or may not be his human father. A mild-mannered collection agent receives a visit from a giant talking frog who enlists his help in saving Tokyo from destruction. As haunting as dreams, as potent as oracles, the stories in After the Quake are further proof that Murakami is one of the most visionary writers at work today.

Original title: 神の子どもたちはみな踊る (kami no kodomotachi-wa mina odoru)
Original languages: Japanese


Genre: FictionHistoricalAsia
FictionGeneral Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     UFO in Kushiro (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami
     Honey Pie (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami
     Landscape with Flatiron (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami
     All God's Children Can Dance (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami
     Thailand (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami
     Super-Frog Saves Tokyo (2000) [Short Story]
      Author: Haruki Murakami

Edition #1: After the Quake

After the Quake (2002)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Jay Rubin
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

After the Quake (2003)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: 0375713271
Dimensions: x x
Pages: 160

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use