The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Win, Lose or Die

Win, Lose or Die (1996) [Anthology]
by Lawrence Block Anthony Boucher George C. Chesbro Agatha Christie John Philip Cohane Phil Davis Lord Dunsany Stanley Ellin Robert L. Fish Pat Hand James Holding David Kaufman H. R. F. Keating Harry Kemelman Robert Loy Theodore Mathieson Sara Paretsky Forrest V. Perrin Bill Pronzini Ellery Queen Ruth Rendell Jack Ritchie Henry Slesar John Steinbeck R.L. Stevens Nedra Tyre Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Mystery stories of deadly games and murderous gambles, this anthology of 26 tales by the masters of suspense are above board in clues, flush with originality and are strictly aces when it comes to bringing readers irresistible entertainment.


  • Dealer’s Choice (1962) by Forrest V. Perrin
  • The Last Hand (1958) by Anthony Boucher
  • The Crapshooter (1943) by John Steinbeck
  • The Scrabble Clue (1966) by John Philip Cohane
  • The Poisoned Pawn (1974) by Henry Slesar
  • The Takamoku Joseki (1984) by Sara Paretsky
  • The Ace of Spades (1945) by Pat Hand
  • The New Master by Lord Dunsany
  • Life, Death, and Other Trivial Concerns (1985) by Robert Loy
  • Beware the King of Clubs (“The Adventure of the King of Clubs”, 1955) by Agatha Christie
  • The Way to Do It (1980) by Jack Ritchie
  • Muldoon and the Numbers Game (1973) by Robert L. Fish
  • Murder, Anyone? (1972) by Phil Davis
  • The Man Who Was the God of Love (1992) by Ruth Rendell
  • End Play (1950) by Harry Kemelman
  • Gentlemen’s Agreement (1977) by Lawrence Block
  • Mr. Hancock’s Last Game (1982) by David Kaufman
  • Scrabble Babble Dabble (1992) by H.R.F. Keating
  • The Chess Partner (1971) by Theodore Mathieson
  • Shade Work (1993) by Bill Pronzini
  • King’s Knight Gambit Declined (1983) by R.L. Stevens
  • The Murder Game (1970) by Nedra Tyre
  • Card Sense (1979) by James Holding
  • Four Knights Game (1974) by George C. Chesbro
  • Fool’s Mate (1951) by Stanley Ellin
  • The Gamblers’ Club (1951) by Ellery Queen

Original title: Win, Lose or Die
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysterySuspense
FictionCrime and MysteryCrime/Caper

The following works are contained within this one:
     King’s Knight Gambit Declined (1973) [Short Story]
      Author: R.L. Stevens
     Takamoku Joseki, the (1984) [Short Story]
      Author: Sara Paretsky
     Shade Work (1993) [Short Story]
      Author: Bill Pronzini

Edition #1: Win, Lose or Die

Win, Lose or Die (1996)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Cynthia Manson Constance Scarborough
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Win, Lose or Die (1997)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 0312960921
Dimensions: 4.2 x 6.8 x 0.8
Pages: 289

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use