The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Oxford Book of Spy Stories, the

Oxford Book of Spy Stories, the (1996) [Anthology]
by Ted Allbeury Eric Ambler Ambrose Bierce John Buchan Peter Cheyney Len Deighton Arthur D. Divine Lord Dunsany Ian Fleming John Galsworthy Michael Gilbert Graham Greene William Haggard Edward D. Hoch Geoffrey Household W.E. Johns William Le Queux A.E.W. Mason W. Somerset Maugham C.E. Montague Frank O'Connor E. Phillips Oppenheim Emmuska Orczy Arthur Quiller-Couch Robert Sheckley John Wainwright Edgar Wallace Valentine Williams Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Oxford Books of Prose

Summary :

Edited by: Michael Cox

"The redline of a laser gunsight split the darkness and targeted the wall next to his head. There was a muffled sound like a dry cough and a bullet thudded into the wall above him. He slid forward under the bed...." Graham Greene's classic spy tale "A Branch of the Service" leaves the heart pounding and nothing to the imagination. On the run during a fictional mole hunt of the mid-eighties, Greene's spy faces an uncertain fate at every turn. Indeed, the dashing spy on the run is one of the great icons of twentieth-century fiction, reflecting the shifting currents of national and international politics for a century and more.

The Oxford Book of Spy Stories offers a panorama of the best spy stories which have forever fixed the concept of espionage in the popular imagination. In twenty-nine tales of political intrigue, wartime heroism, and peacetime scheming, we see the spy at work and at rest, sometimes the romantic savior of a nation's secret, more often an embittered loner, wracked with disillusion and uncertainty. The stories--by such famous authors as Ambrose Bierce, W. Somerset Maugham, Frank O'Connor, Ian Fleming, Len Deighton, Graham Greene, and Edward D. Hoch--range from traditional thrillers with the spy as hero to explorations of the metaphoric potential of espionage and the moral, political, and psychological issues that such an activity brings into question. Together with Michael Cox's fascinating introduction, they form a wonderfully entertaining literary insight into a world of intrigue and deception.


  • Parker Adderson, Philosopher (1891) by Ambrose Bierce
  • The Red Carnation (1898) by Baroness Orczy
  • The Rider in the Dawn (1903) by Sir Arthur T. Quiller-Couch
  • The Brass Butterfly (1911) by William Le Queux
  • Peiffer (1917) by A.E.W. Mason
  • Mr. Collingrey, MP (1919) by Edgar Wallace
  • The Lit Chamber (1920) by John Buchan
  • The Reckoning with Otto Schreed (1921) by E. Phillips Oppenheim
  • Giulia Lazzari (1927) by W. Somerset Maugham
  • Judith (1928) by C.E. Montague
  • The Pigeon Man (1927) by Valentine Williams
  • Jumbo’s Wife (1931) by Frank O’Connor
  • Affaire de Coeur (1932) by W.E. Johns
  • Flood on the Goodwins (1933) by Arthur D. Divine
  • How Ryan Got Out of Russia (1934) by Lord Dunsany
  • A Patriot (1935) by John Galsworthy
  • A Double Double-Cross (1924) by Peter Cheyney
  • The Army of the Shadows (1939) by Eric Ambler
  • Citizen in Space (“Spy Story”, 1955) by Robert Sheckley
  • Risico (1960) by Ian Fleming
  • Keep Walking (1968) by Geoffrey Household
  • Paper Casualty (1971) by Len Deighton
  • Signal Tresham (“A Sense of History”, 1980) by Michael Gilbert
  • Final Demand (1982) by John Wainwright
  • The Rocking-Horse Spy (1986) by Ted Allbeury
  • The Great Divide (1989) by William Haggard
  • A Branch of the Service (1990) by Graham Greene
  • Waiting for Mrs. Ryder (1994) by Edward D. Hoch

Original title: The Oxford Book of Spy Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionAdventureSpy/Espionage

The following works are contained within this one:
     Risico (1960) [Short Story]
      Author: Ian Fleming
     Waiting for Mrs. Ryder (1994) [Short Story]
      Author: Edward D. Hoch

Edition #1: Oxford Book of Spy Stories, the

Oxford Book of Spy Stories, the (1996)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Oxford Book of Spy Stories, the (1996)

ISBN: 0192142429

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use