The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, the

Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, the (1995) [Anthology]
by Jack Adrian Joan Aiken Charles Ardai Ron Burns Basil Copper Lillian de la Torre P.C. (Paul) Doherty Margaret Frazer Keith Heller Edward D. Hoch William Hope Hodgson Peter MacAlan F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre Theodore Mathieson Eric Mayer Amy Myers Wallace Nichols Edith Pargeter J.F. Peirce Melville Davisson Post Mary Monica Pulver S.S. Rafferty Mary Reed John Maddox Roberts Steven Saylor Kate Sedley R.L. Stevens Peter Tremayne Robert van Gulik Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Mammoth Anthologies

Summary (From the publisher):

A feast of historical detective stories, from the earliest known locked-room mystery (35,000 BC), through ancient Rome and China to medieval England, the Wild West, the Indian Raj and Victorian London:

Ellis Peters unravels a fourteenth-century witch trial.

Robert van Gulik's real-life magistrate Judge Dee, in seventh-century China.

A new story by Peter Tremayne featuring Sister Fidelma, in Dark Age Ireland.

Edward Hoch turns Ben Snow, his cowboy-investigator, loose on the range.

Margaret Frazer's Sister Frevisse, and a medieval Oxford murder mystery.

The Roman detective Gordianus cracks a theatrical case with the help of Steven Saylor.

Lillian de la Torre, the great Dr Sam: Johnson and his faithful Watson, James Boswell.

Roger the Chapman, Kate Sedley's traveller-detective, has only one night to solve a murder.

And introducing two new historical detectives, Captain Cook and William Shakespeare, and many more...


  • Part I: The Ancient World
    • Death in the Dawntime (1995) by F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre
    • Judgement of Daniel Anonymous
    • Death Wears a Mask (1992) by Steven Saylor
    • The King of Sacrifices (1995) by John Maddox Roberts
    • The Three Travellers (1976) by R.L. Stevens
    • The Case of the Murdered Senator (1950) by Wallace Nichols
    • A Mithraic Mystery (1995) by Mary Reed & Eric Mayer
    • Abbey Sinister (1995) by Peter Tremayne
    • The Two Beggars (1967) by Robert van Gulik
  • Part II: The Middle Ages
    • The Investigation of Things (1991) by Charles Ardai
    • The Midwife’s Tale (1995) by Margaret Frazer
    • The Duchess and the Doll (1950) by Edith Pargeter
    • Ordeal by Fire (1995) by Mary Monica Pulver
    • The Chapman and the Tree of Doom (1995) by Kate Sedley
  • Part III: The Age of Discovery
    • The Murder of Innocence (1995) by P.C. Doherty
    • Cassandra’s Castle; or, The Devious Disappearances (1975) by J.F. Peirce
    • Man’s Inherited Death (1987) by Keith Heller
    • The Curse of the Connecticut Clock (1979) by S.S. Rafferty
    • The Scent of Murder (“Captain Cook, Detective”, 1958) by Theodore Mathieson
    • The Inn of the Black Crow (1915) by William Hope Hodgson
    • The Spirit of the ’76 (1977) by Lillian de la Torre
  • Part IV: Regency and Gaslight
    • Deadly Will and Testament (1995) by Ron Burns
    • The God of the Hills (1927) by Melville Davisson Post
    • The Admiral’s Lady (1995) by Joan Aiken
    • The Eye of Shiva (1995) by Peter MacAlan
    • The Trail of the Bells (1985) by Edward D. Hoch
    • Murdering Mr Boodle (1995) by Amy Myers
  • Part V: Holmes and Beyond
    • The Phantom Pistol (1989) by Jack Adrian
    • The Adventure of the Frightened Governess (1995) by Basil Copper

Original title: The Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalAncient World (Greece, Rome, etc)
FictionHistoricalNorth America
FictionCrime and MysteryDetective Story and DetectivesHistorical

The following works are contained within this one:
     Two Beggars, the (1967) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert van Gulik
     Three Travellers, the (1976) [Short Story]
      Author: R.L. Stevens
     Trail of the Bells, the (1985) [Short Story]
      Author: Edward D. Hoch
     Mithraic Mystery, a (1995) [Short Story]
      Authors: Mary Reed , Eric Mayer
     Admiral's Lady, the (1995) [Short Story]
      Author: Joan Aiken
     Judgement of Daniel (1995) [Short Story]
      Author: Unknown Author

Edition #1: Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, the

Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, the (1995)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Mike Ashley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, the (1995)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London
Publisher: Robinson
ISBN: 1854874063
Pages: 532

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use