The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Friederike Mayröcker



Rating: No votes
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Born in 1924 in Vienna, Mayröcker attended business school before being drafted, frim 1942 to 1945, into the Luftwaffe. At the same time, she trained as a schoolteacher, and after the war she taught school until 1969, when she returned to devote full time to her writing.

Among her many collections of poetry, prose, radio plays, and essays are Tod durch musen (1968, death through muses); Minimonsters traumlexikon (1968, minimonster's dream dictionary); Fantom fan (1971); Das licht in der landschaft (1975, the light in the landscape); Fast ein frühling des markus m. (1976, almost a spring of markus m.); je ein unwölkter gipfel (1973, published in English as with each clouded peak in 1998); and Heiligenanstalt (1978, published in English in 1994 under the same title.)

Mayröcker has been awarded several major literary prizes, including the Theodor Körner Prize (1963), the Georg Trakl Prize for poetry (1977), the Great Austrian State Prize (1982) and more recently the 1997 International Prize of The America Awards.




Picture Books:


©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use