The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Yoko Tawada



Rating: No votes
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source: From the publisher

Yoko Tawada was born in Tokyo in 1960 and educated at Waseda University, and now lives in Germany. She made her debut as a writer with "Missing Heels," which was awarded the Gunzo Prize for New Writers in 1991. In 1993 she received the prestigious Akutagawa Prize Japan's equivalent of a Booker or a Pulitzer for "The Bridegroom Was a Dog." And in 1996 she won the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize, a German award to foreign writers recognized for their contribution to German culture. She has also been given the Prize in Literature from the City of Hamburg (1990) and the Lessing Prize (1994).

Her fiction and poetry have been featured in journals and anthologies in France, Holland, Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic.



©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use