The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Margaret Laurence

View all 1 Images


Rating: Weighted - 7.05 / Average - 6.0 of 10 (5 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Margaret Laurence was born in 1926 in Neepawa, a small town in Manitoba. In 1960, her first novel, This Side Jordan, was published in the United States, England, and Canada, and won for her Canada's Beta Sigma Phi Award for the best first novel by a Canadian. In June of 1964 three of her books -- a novel, The Stone Angel; a book about Somaliland, New Wind in a Dry Land; and a collection of short stories, The Tomorrow-Tamer -- were published simultaneously in Canada. Her next novel, A Jest of God, won the Canadian Governor General's Award in 1966, and later became the basis for the film Rachel, Rachel. The Fire-Dwellers was published in 1969, and was followed by a collection of short stories, A Bird in the House, in 1970. Her other works include Jason's Quest, a children's story, written in 1970, and Long Drums and Cannons, a study of Nigerian literature, published in 1971. In 1972, Mrs. Laurence was made a Companion of the Order of Canada, the highest award given by the Canadian government. She died in 1987 and her ashes are interred in Neepawa, Manitoba.




©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use