The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Maya Angelou

View all 1 Images


Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (3 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Maya Angelou, author of the bestselling I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Gather Together in My Name, and The Heart of a Woman, has also written five collections of poetry, Just Give Me a Cool Drink of Water 'fore I Die; Oh Pray My Wings Are Gonna Fit Me Well; And Still I Rise; Shaker, Why Don't You Sing?; and I Shall Not Be Moved; as well as On the Pulse of Morning, which was read by her at the inauguration of President Clinton on January 20, 1993. In theater, she produced, directed, and starred in Cabaret for Freedom in collaboration with Godfrey Cambridge at New York's Village Gate, starred in Genet's The Blacks at the St. Mark's Playhouse, and adapted Sophocles' Ajax, which premiered at the Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles in 1974. In film and television, she wrote the original screenplay and musical sore for the film Georgia, Georgia and wrote and produced a ten-part TV series on African traditions in American life. In the sixties, at the request of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., she became the northern coordinator for the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and in 1975 she received the Ladies Home Journal Woman of the Year Award in communications. She has received numerous honorary degrees, was appointed by President Jimmy Carter to the National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year and by President Gerald R. Ford to the American Revolution Bicentennial Advisory Council. She is on the board of trustees of the American Film Institute and is one of the few female members of the Directors Guild. Maya Angelou is currently Reynolds Professor at Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Ms Angelou died 27th May 2014.




©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use