The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Fiona Macleod



Rating: No votes
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

pseudonym of William Sharp (1855-1905)
Scottish writer and editor. In the 1890s Sharp's shadowy double, "Fiona Macleod," emerged, though Sharp pretended she was real for the rest of his life. Macleod's writings, unlike Sharp's, are mystical Celtic fantasies, heavy with nostalgia and atmosphere. The best tales are collected in The Sin-Eater and Other Tales (1894) and The Washer of the Ford and Other Legendary Moralities (1896). Her allegorical novels include Pharais (1894), The Mountain Lovers (1895), and Green Fire (1896).



©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use