The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Patricia Wrightson

View all 1 Images


Rating: No votes
Comments: 1 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Australian author Patricia Wrightson was born in 1921 in Lismore, New South Wales. Her first novel, The Crooked Snake, written for her children, was published in 1955. She was honored with the OBE in 1977, the Dromkeen Medal in 1984, and the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 1986, all for her services to children's literature. She has won the Australian Children's Book of the Year Award four times for The Crooked Snake, The Nargun and the Stars, The Ice Is Coming and A Little Fear. The myths and creatures in her books are based on authentic aboriginal folklore. With husband Peter, she published The Wrightson List, a definitive guide to Australian folk figures.

Patricia Wrightson died on the 15th March 2010.



Picture Books:


©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use