The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Mark Clifton

View all 1 Images


Rating: Weighted - 7.61 / Average - 7.4 of 10 (7 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

In the early 1950s, Mark Clifton retired from twenty years as a practicing industrial psychologist, mostly responsible for personnel entrance and exit interviews. Between July 1952 and his death in early 1963 Clifton published three novels and twenty short stories. Nearly a third of his stories were written in collaboration with Alex Apostolides and Frank Riley.

His first novel, They'd Rather Be Right, in collaboration with Frank Riley, won the second science fiction Hugo award for best novel of the year. The others, written alone, were not as successful, and none of them had mass market editions during his lifetime.

During his last six years, Clifton published only four or five of his short stories and the last two novels. Although his first cluster of short stories, appearing in Astounding Science Fiction between 1952 and 1955, attracted vast attention and created the impression of enormous prolificacy, the fact is that Clifton's output, compared with other science fiction writers of his decade, was only moderate.




Short Stories:


©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use