The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Maxwell Grant



Rating: No votes
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Creator of The Shadow and Norgil the Magician, Maxwell Grant was primarily the secret identity of prolific writer and professional illusionist, Walter B. Gibson, with Theodore Tinsley filling in once in a while during the years when the Shadow magazine was published twice a month, writing 26 Shadow novels between 1937 and 1943. Lester Dent, creator of Doc Savage, helped out on one 1938 story, "The Golden Vulture". After Gibson retired from the series over a contract dispute, Bruce Elliott took the Maxwell Grant mantle, writing 15 novels between August 1946 and July 1948, his last novel being "Reign of Terror", after which Gibson returned to write a few final adventures for the magazine. Gibson wrote some additional Shadow novels in the 1960's. Other Shadow novels of the 60's were ghosted by Dennis Lynds.


Series: Pseudonyms:

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use