The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: John Galsworthy

View all 1 Images


Rating: No votes
Comments: 0 (show them)
Biography's Source: From the publisher


John Galsworthy, born in 1867, was educated at Harrow School and Oxford university, where he studied law. His early novels were followed in 1906 by his first play, The Silver Box. In that year, too, appeared The Man of Property, the first volume of an immensely popular trilogy which was published as The Forsyte Saga in 1922 and was followed by a second trilogy, A Modern Comedy. At his death in 1933 Galsworthy's fame as both playwright and novelist had been unrivalled for some 25 years. He was awarded the Order of Merit, received the Nobel Prize for Literature, and was the first president of the international P.E.N. Club.




©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use