The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Author Information: Maurice Walsh

View all 1 Images


Rating: No votes
Comments: 5 (show them)
Biography's Source:

Maurice Walsh was born in Ballydonoghue on 2 May 1879. He received his early education at Lisselton National School and then spent two years at St. Michael's College, Listowel. He entered the British civil service in 1901 and was appointed to the excise department in the Highland of Scotland. On the setting up of the Irish Free State in 1922 he returned home to help build up the customs and excise service of the new State. He retired in 1933 and died in Dublin on 18 February 1964.

His first novel, The key above the door, appeared in 1923. subsequently he wrote twenty novels and numerous short stories. The short story upon which the Academy Award film, The Quiet Man, was based was first published in 1934. one of his novels, Trouble in the glen, was filmed in England 1954.

His novels are set either in the highlands of Scotland or the lowlands of north Kerry. Scotland had an extraordinary fascination for him and eight of his stories came 'out of the heather'. The following is a list of the titles of his full-length books (his publisher was Chambers of Edinburgh): The key above the door(1923), While rivers run (1926), The small dark man (1929), Blackcock's Feather (1932), The road to nowhere (1934), Green rushes (1935), And no quarter (1937), Sons of the swordmaker (1938), The hill is mine (1940), Son of apple (1940), Thomasheen James, Man of no-work (1941), The Spanish lady (1943), The man in brown (1945), Castle Gillian (1948), Trouble in the glen (1950), Son of the tinker and other tales, (1951), The honest fishermen (1954), A strange woman's daughter (1954), Danger under the moon (1956), and The smart fellow (1964).


©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use